Cast Your Vote Online
Friday, May 16, 2008

McFarlane Toys has partnered with the National Hockey League Player's Association (NHLPA) to sponsor the 2007-08 Lester B. Pearson Award Contest on Fans are encouraged to vote for their favorite, just like the players do. A random drawing will take place June 12, 2008, to determine the grand prize winner and second- and third-place finishers.

The Lester B. Pearson Award is presented annually to the "most outstanding player" in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA. Jarome Iginla of the Calgary Flames, Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals are finalists for the 2007-08 award.

Fans and media are encouraged to visit for further background information on the Lester B. Pearson Award, in-depth finalist profiles, multimedia features, and the Pearson Award contest.

Named for the former Prime Minister of Canada, the Lester B. Pearson Award has been voted on by the players since the 1970-71 season, when Phil Esposito was the inaugural recipient. Many of the legends of hockey have been recipients of the award, including Bobby Orr, Guy Lafleur, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux and Steve Yzerman. The award will be presented during the NHL Awards Television Special in Toronto, Ontario on Thursday, June 12, 2008.